APC NWC upholds screening, appeal panel reports on Bayelsa, unveils decisions on Kogi governorship aspirants


Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, APC National Publicity Secretary.

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) says it has upheld the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the Bayelsa Governorship aspirants.

The Party’s National Publicity Secretary,Allah Lanre Issa-Onilu, disclosed this in a statement in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital, sent to The DEFENDER on Tuesday.

“Of the total seven governorship aspirants that were screened, six were cleared to participate in the governorship primary in Bayelsa state. They are: Mr. Aganaba Preye Steven, Sen. Heineken Lokpobiri, Prince Ebitimi Christopher Amgbare, Ms. Diseye Nsirim Poweigha, Mr. Lyon David Pereworimini, and Engr. Prof (Mrs.) Ongoebi Maureen Etebu.

“Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland was not cleared to participate in the Party’s governorship primary .

“The APC NWC upheld the disqualification of Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland based on Section 3 Paragraph “L” of the Party’s guidelines for the nomination of candidates which requires that aspirants are card-carrying member of the party for a period of one year.

“The party also found no record of his membership of APC and was therefore considered ineligible,” he said.

In the meantime, the ruling APC says it has deliberated on reports of the screening and appeal committees for the Party’s Kogi Governorship aspirants.

These decisions, it said, were taken after a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, relying on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, nine aspirants were finally cleared to contest the August 29, 2019 Indirect Governorship primary.

According to a fresh statement also issued by its Spokesman, the party said seven of her aspirants did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise, while nine did.

The NWC decisions are listed below:


1. Yahaya Bello

2. Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim

3. Yahaya Odidi Audu

4. Sani Lulu Abdullahi

5. Engr. Abubakar Bashir

6. Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed

7. Yakubu Mohammed

8. Hassan Abdullahi

9. Ekele Aishat Blessing


1. Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili

2. Usman Oyibe Jibrin

3. Mustapha Mona Audu

4. Rukkaya Ibrahim

5. Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa

6. Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera

7. Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu

There is love in sharing!!